Image of G Ttop25 Featured

March 25, 2016

PulsePoint President Richard Price named to Government Technology's Top 25 innovators in the public sector

Government Technology’s Top 25 Doers, Dreamers, Drivers Revealed

Honorees cut through the public sector’s barriers to
innovation and succeed in improving services to citizens

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – March 24, 2016 – Government Technology announced its 2016 Top 25 Doers, Dreamers & Drivers – 25 individuals or teams who exemplify transformative use of technology that’s improving the way government does business and serves its citizens.

Showcased in the April/May issue of Government Technology magazine, this year’s list includes public and private sector technology leaders focused on customer-centric services, transparent operations, innovative processes and pioneering partnerships.

“This year’s Top 25 have a record of using technology to solve problems, improve citizen services and transform internal operations,” said Noelle Knell, editor, Government Technology magazine. “These are the people that have found ways to cut through the public sector's barriers to innovation -- tight budgets, organizational inertia, politics as usual, etc. -- to reshape government operations for the better.”

Read the winners’ stories here.

Government Technology’s Top 25 Doers, Dreamers & Drivers for 2016:

Harry Black, City Manager, Cincinnati

Maury Blackman, CEO, Accela

Michael Bott, Assistant Comptroller and CIO, New York City Office of the Comptroller

Charles Catlett, Director, Urban Center for Computation and Data at Argonne National Laboratory and the University of Chicago

Barbara Cohn, Chief Data Officer, New York

David Couch, K-12 CIO and Associate Commissioner of the Office of KIDS, Kentucky

Richard Culatta, Chief Innovation Officer, Rhode Island

Jack Dangermond, Founder and President, Esri

Mikey Dickerson, Administrator, U.S. Digital Service

Dickie Howze, CIO, Louisiana

Waldo Jaquith, Director, U.S. Open Data

Jessica Kahn, Director of the Data and Systems Group, Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

William Kosinetz, CIO, Sussex County, N.J.

Thom Little, Director of Curriculum Development and Research, State Legislative Leaders Foundation

Craig Orgeron, CIO, Mississippi

Chris Osgood, Chief of Streets, Boston

Sachin Pavithran, Chairman, United States Access Board

Richard Price, Founder and President, PulsePoint Foundation

Calvin Rhodes, CIO, Georgia

Jorge Salinas, Assistant City Manager and CIO, Albany, Ore.

Ed Winfield, CIO, Wayne County, Mich., Department of Technology

Steve Zink, Vice Chancellor for Information Technology, Nevada System of Higher Education

Team California

  • Tim Garza, IT Director, California Natural Resources Agency, and CIO, California Department of Water Resources
  • Rita Gass, CIO, California Conservation Corps
  • John Laird, Secretary, California Natural Resources Agency
  • Tom Lupo, CIO, California Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Phil Minas, CIO, California Department of Parks and Recreation
  • Ronald Ralph, CIO, California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection

Team San Francisco

  • Joy Bonaguro, Chief Data Officer
  • Miguel Gamiño, CIO
  • Jay Nath, Chief Innovation Officer

Team Obama

(This award acknowledges the leadership of the Obama administration in bringing on the first federal CIO and CTO; committing to openness through the Open Data Act and open government initiatives; creating agencies like 18F and the U.S. Digital Service; and investing in smart cities, cybersecurity and community broadband.)

Government Technology’s Top 25 Doers, Dreamers & Drivers annual award program has recognized nearly 400 people since its inception in 2002. Recipients are chosen based on their record of using technology to solve problems, improve citizen services and transform internal operations.

About Government Technology |

Government Technology is about solving problems in state and local government through the smart use of technology. Government Technology is a division of e.Republic, the nation’s only media and research company focused exclusively on state and local government and education.

Media Contact:

Margaret Mohr | Chief Marketing Officer | 916-932-1364